Image

Restaurants and the Bathroom Test

RestaurantI eat in restaurants often. I like trying new restaurants, especially when brunch is served. I never worried about sanitation in the kitchen or if my server washed their hands. I just enjoyed the food.

TV shows change all that. Try watching shows like Restaurant: Impossible on the Food Network,  Hotel Impossible on the Travel Channel or Bar Rescue on Spike TV. I was shocked at all the unsanitary hotels, bars and restaurants out there. I always knew there are unsanitary places but seeing it on TV brings it to life. How can you tell when you walk into one of these places?

I got up to use the bathroom on one of my restaurant visits. It was really bad. The floors were dirty, the paper-towels had run out and the soap was empty. It hit me, if I can’t wash my hands, my server can’t wash his hands either. Then I realized, if a restaurant doesn’t take the time to clean and re-stock the bathroom, why would I think they clean the kitchen? If I see roaches or other critters in the bathroom (and I have), I bet there are critters in the kitchen as well. I decided a really bad bathroom is a good sign I should get out of there BEFORE I eat a meal.

Why worry about a restaurants’ bathroom? Bathrooms are used by customers. Some restaurant managers don’t care or are too busy to make sure the bathroom is clean and stocked. If a place customers see is a low priority for cleanliness, what’s the priority for places NOT SEEN by customers. It’s a red flag at least!

My sister-in-law works in the restaurant industry. She has another test. Look up at the air vents in the dinning room. If they’re dirty, so is the kitchen. Do you have a test? If so, please share …

Thanks for reading the Wheel Life Thinking Blog!

Brent Jackson

3 thoughts on “Restaurants and the Bathroom Test

  1. I’m not a fan of sticky tables or sticky floors. It makes me assume they are using the same dirty water, dirty wash rag, and dirty mop over and over again. Yuck! It also bothers me if there is a lot of dust around the windows, on the back of booths, on fake flowers, etc. If they don’t dust where everyone is eating, I’m not convinced they clean their kitchen correctly. A lot of crumbs everywhere is also a big no-no for me.

Leave a Reply

